How to make a webinar

A while back, DJ wrote in reference to my webinar of my MCCA workshop on blogging, “Perhaps he’ll make a future post on how he recorded the presentation and audio together so neatly in a QuickTime package.”

This is that future post.

  1. Recorded the mp3 audio using an iRiver IFP-799 and simple Radio Shack clip-on mic [note: I forgot to use my mono-to-stereo adapter so the audio is mono]
  2. Exported the Keynote slides to JPGs
  3. Imported both the mp3 audio and JPGs into iMovie
  4. Shortened and lengthened the JPGs to sync with the audio
  5. Export from iMovie to a Quicktime file

3 thoughts on “How to make a webinar

  1. Hi! Thanks for this post. I’ve been exploring the possibility of making webinars but I didn’t know I could make one myself so easily.

    I haven’t had much experience with iMovie though, and I’m having a hard time figuring it out. I still can’t clip sound files so I get only the bits I want or delete and re-record a section of a sound clip that didn’t sound right. I also can’t make the slides (turned into clips for iMovie) last longer than the 5 seconds automatically assigned to them when I imported the jpegs, unless I copy and paste the slide a bunch of times until I get the length I need! And when I do that, the automatic effect that iMovie gives the clips, zooming in slowly on the image, keeps repeating itself because I copy pasted the clips, so it looks really weird. I was wondering if you had any tips for me on this! Sorry this turned out to be such a long comment, but thanks for this!

    – Carolina

Leave a Reply

