Tasteless Christianity

Because of a cold I recently lost my ability to smell or taste. When I ate I could only very mildly perceive taste (e.g. sour, sweet). Food was reduced to vague shapes and textures. As a result, eating became unfulfilling, but I ate out of necessity.

I wonder how many of us struggle with the same handicap regarding our faith? That is, we find Christ tasteless; we go through the motions (worship, reading Scripture, praying) because we must, and our faith has a form of godliness, but is void of any real power (cf. 2 Tim. 3:5).

May we all …

“Taste and see that the LORD is good;
blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.”

-Psalm 34:8

Leave a Reply

