On My Brow

Today in chapel we sang the hymn My Jesus, I Love Thee. I never noticed the parallel between the objects upon the brow in these two scenes:

I’ll love Thee in life, I will love Thee in death,
And praise Thee as long as Thou lendest me breath;
And say when the death dew lies cold on my brow,
If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

In mansions of glory and endless delight,
I’ll ever adore Thee in heaven so bright;
I’ll sing with the glittering crown on my brow;
If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

This was made more poignant today as I learned that my uncle has a form of blood cancer and will probably only live ~4 years. Why are there no modern hymns that deal with death? Have we forgotten that we serve the “God of peace will soon crush Satan under [our] feet” (Romans 16:20; a fulfillment of Gen. 3:15!)?

Leave a Reply

