Next Job?

If you were forced to leave your current field of work, into which field would you venture?

Overall I enjoy my job immensely.  But if I had to do it all over and find a different field of work, here are three that come to mind:

  1. Physician – No doubt the life of the 21st century physician is difficult and places a tremendous strain on the marriage, family, and life, but physicians are able to meet people’s needs in a way that few others can.  I know we were so thankful for the good medical care we received during Micah and Elia’s birth.  A good physician and nurse makes all the difference in the world.
  2. Chemist – Although I’ve only taken one or two chemistry courses, I enjoyed the balanced mixture of math and science found in chemistry.  In addition, the opportunity to experiment and explore would be fulfilling.
  3. Flower Delivery Man – Most people are fairly happy and thankful to receive flowers; why not be that harbinger of joy?

Two fields I would deliberately eschew:

  1. Business – I’m thankful that so many of my friends enjoy business because we need good people like them in that field.  I simply cannot see myself in that setting, however.
  2. IT – Although I enjoy technology, I enjoy it as a hobby and not as a profession.  IMHO, everything changes when it becomes your livelihood.

One thought on “Next Job?

  1. It’s cool to hear the reasons for your interest in those other jobs: wanting to help others and having a genuine interest in those careers. I feel bad for people who decide based on less important factors.

    I am excited to get to serve with you because I’m encouraged at the impact you’re making in the lives of the people at our church. I am also learning a lot by watching how you interact with others. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

